The Speaker of the House of Representatives, Rep. Femi Gbajabiamila, has hailed his constituents in the Surulere 1 Federal Constituency of Lagos State for electing him for the 6th term.



Gbajabiamila emerged victorious during the presidential and National Assembly elections that took place on Saturday.

A statement signed by the spcial Adviser to the Speaker on Media and Publicity Lanre Lasisi stated that the speaker polled 19,717 votes and defeated his closest opponent, Bosun Jeje of the People’s Democratic Party (PDP), who scored 5,121 votes.



Speaker Gbajabiamila said he remained grateful to the people of Surulere 1 for giving him the sixth term mandate, noting that he would not disappoint them.

He said he would continue to work assiduously and bring more developmental projects to Surulere and beyond.

“I am immensely grateful to the people of Surulere for their overwhelming support. I do not take your support for granted.

“As your representative for the past 20 years, I have always protected your interest. I am proud of you as my constituents. I thank our teeming supporters, our Surulere APC leaders, party members, CDAs and residents for their massive support.

“This victory is not mine alone. It is a victory for democracy. Surulere has made history by this sixth mandate given to me, which would definitely spur me to do more for you,” Gbajabiamila said.

The Speaker was first elected to the House of Representatives in 2003 to represent Surulere 1 Federal Constituency. Since then, he has won elections in the subsequent five election cycles, including Saturday’s.

Gbajabiamila remains the only lawmaker from South West geopolitical zone to have been elected six times to represent his constituency.

During his 20-year journey in the House of Representatives so far, Gbajabiamila has served as Minority Whip, Minority Leader, Opposition Leader, and Majority Leader before getting elected as Speaker in 2019. He remains the only lawmaker in Africa to have done this.


Spread the love

2 thoughts on “Gbajabiamila salutes constituents for historic 6th term victory

Leave a Reply